For the complete documentation index, see llms.txt. This page is also available as Markdown.

Comparing Test Artifacts Before Pull

Comparing the current version with a pulled version helps you review the changes before restoring the test artifact. This comparison helps you:

  • Identify changes between the current version and the pulled version.

  • Review added, modified, and removed items.

  • Verify the changes before restoring the test artifact.

  • Compare one or more selected test artifacts in a single comparison session.

Comparing Current Version Before Pull

The Compare option is available in the Pull window for all supported version-controlled test artifacts. Use this option to review the differences between the selected test artifact in the versioning repository and the corresponding test artifact in Avo Assure before restoring the selected version.

Note: The following steps are the same for all artifacts (Element Repository, Reusable Library, End-to-End and Execution).

To compare the current test artifact with the selected version in Bitbucket, perform the following actions:

  1. On the Home page, under Projects, select the required project.

  2. Select Design Studio > Test Case.

  3. On the Test Case page, select the Bitbucket icon.

  4. Select Pull. The Pull Test Cases dialog opens.

  5. Under Name, expand the folders, and then select the required test cases.

Note:

  • The Status column displays the workflow status of test artifacts.

  • The Checked in column indicates whether a test case is already pushed to Bitbucket.

  • You can select one or more test cases at a time.

  1. Select Compare. The It may take 1–2 minutes to compare dialog opens.

  2. Select OK. The comparison process starts. After the comparison completes, the Bitbucket actions dialog opens and displays the comparison results, including the Test case name, Elements, Actions, Input values, and Output values.

  3. Review the differences between the Current view and the Pushed test cases. The following changes highlighted in the comparison view:

    • Added: Indicates that new test cases or test steps are added compared to the previous version.

    • Edited: Indicates that existing test cases or test steps are modified.

    • Removed: Indicates that existing test cases or test steps are removed from the test case.

    • No changes: Indicates that no differences are available between the versions.

Note: If multiple test cases are selected, select the navigation arrows to move between the test cases. The comparison view displays the current test case name and its position, for example, 9 of 15.

  1. Select Done to close the comparison view.

Note:

  • Select Back to return to the Pull Test Cases window.

  • From the comparison view, you can restore the multiple test cases at a time by selecting Restore all or Restore all to new test cases.

  • You can also restore an individual test case by selecting Restore test case and Restore to new test case.

Additional Notes:

  • In the Reusable Library, restoring a Test Step Group from Bitbucket updates the same Test Step Group in all locations where it is reused.

  • The following information applies only to the Test Case page:

    • If a test case includes an associated data file (for example, an Excel file), pulling the test case also downloads the data file.

    • After the pull operation, the test case appears on the Test Case page, and the data file is saved in the Avo Assure Client folder. The Avo Assure Client console displays the file path.

    • Update the file path in the test case to point to the downloaded data file before using it.

Last updated